Skip to content

Dateline London: Animals abroad

February 15, 2011

Hello faithful Current Instincts readers! As you know, I recently returned from a holiday in London, England. I had a splendid time visiting museums, taking in the history of the city, figuring out “Pounds”, and enjoying pints in pubs. But I was also observing animals. The first animals I observed were humans:

Man dressed as cow.

They're way more up front about their love of animals in England.

Okay, let’s get to the real animals. Here I am with a horse. I didn’t think I was standing that far apart from him, but he was also a little jittery. This regal guy gets to work for the queen, which I’m sure he really appreciates.

Yeah that hat seems necessary dude.

Our third animal sighting is a mystery. This is in St. James Park, outside of Buckingham Palace:

What are these huge mystery birds!?!?!

My guess is stork, even though I’ve never seen a stork. They had pouches similar to pelicans, but not quite as deep as a pelicans. So I think they’re cousins. If anyone has any guesses as to what these enormous birds are, please let us know in the comments!

Oddly enough, during my week long stay, I had three full days of sunshine! On Tuesday I went to Hyde Park where the sun was shining and the animals were animaling:

British squirrel.

BRITISH SQUIRREL. He wants some crisps and scones.

While in Hyde Park, I observed another battle in the squirrel war. Since people feed the squirrels, they are not afraid of you and will come right up to you. (Fun fact: apparently there are no squirrels in Spain, every Spanish person I saw was FASCINATED by squirrels). Anyway. I observed a man, standing up, trying to lure a squirrel to him. The squirrel approached him then LEAPT ON HIS LEG AND CRAWLED UP HIS BACK. I kid you not. I didn’t get my camera out in time but it happened and it was fabulous.

And now for some more birds:

Mary Poppins.

Swans.

My friend and I also went to Stonehenge. A raven tried to tell us the secrets but unfortunately, there was a language barrier. We can only tap into the minds of American birds, not ones from across the pond. So the mystery remains.

I'm going to assume he was telling us Stonehenge was all an elaborate joke on modern people

So for being in a major city, I had a fair share of animal encounters! Some other fun facts, London was a surprisingly vegetarian friendly city. When I think of British food, I think of fish and chips, “bangers” and meat pies. These were all obviously available, but the diversity of food was amazing and for my last supper my friend and I dined in a fantastic vegan restaurant. And packaged food would say if it was vegan or vegetarian friendly, which you only get on some food here in the colonies.

While I had a fabulous time exploring London, catching up with old friends, and observing international animals, it’s good to be back in NYC and blogging about our furry friends once again. Cheers!

-Susan

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 11:03 am

    That’s one of the things I miss most about England – the ‘V’s on the food. It was so much easier there. Here I am back to reading through the ingredient lists again!

    And I have no idea what those birds are. I was going to say pelican as a guess.

  2. February 15, 2011 11:36 am

    The big white birds are indeed pelicans. The species is Great White Pelican, which is the most widespread pelican species in Eurasia and Africa.

    • February 15, 2011 11:43 am

      Thank you! After a quick Google image search, I think we have to agree with you. I love Pelicans, but I had only ever seen brown ones!

Leave a Reply

