Skip to content

Veggie Tails: My first attempt at eating green

February 7, 2011
chicken

Dear chicken, I'll miss YOU most of all.

I’ve been a carnivore for as long as I can remember. Since both my parents are hearty meat eaters, I was raised in a household where meat was consistently the central ingredient of all three meals during the day. Growing up, if you even attempted to refuse my mom’s homemade meatballs, she took it as an affront to not only her cooking, but also her parenting skills. My naturally skinny build was always a referendum on the fact that I obviously wasn’t eating enough, at least in her mind.

College was my first exposure to another eating lifestyle. In fact, I didn’t even know that a veggies-only diet even existed, let alone was freely practiced with raised eyebrows. No bacon bits on your salad? No chicken nuggets as an in-between-meals-snack? Wait, what are you supposed to munch on at barbecues?

So with this post I intend to kick start a week-long sabbatical from my meat-eating ways. Writing and reading about animals on a daily basis has inspired me. I mean, how can I argue that animals talk too and then eat a hamburger?

I will document my progress as honestly as I can about the triumphs and struggles with adhering to vegetarianism. You’ll find photos of meals that I will cook on my own, as well as potentially-pathetic-sounding musings on cravings.  I have a feeling that avoiding chicken – my favorite white meat – for a whole week will be pretty challenging for me. But then again, chickens are pretty cool so maybe if I just look at pictures of the animals, my cravings will disappear.

Hopefully by the end of this experience, I’ll have a better understanding of the values of eating green — and red and yellow and orange and purple — and maybe I’ll even go veggie for life.

Maybe.

Do any of the former meat eaters out there have any words of wisdom for me? What made you go veggie?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 10:49 am

    Good luck! We just switched recently at switchtoveggies, and have discovered so many untapped fruits and vegetables, that I would have never tried before. I have been enjoying the adventure and extra health benefit. Have fun.
    – Tommy

  2. February 8, 2011 11:06 am

    Best of luck to you this week. We’ve been saying for years that we’d like to try vegetarianism, but have yet to do it. Looking forward to see what you cook up for meals!

Leave a Reply

