Skip to content

1,000 yard penalty: calling bullshit on Michael Vick

December 15, 2010

Still a fucking douchebag.

I did not expect to get this angry just chilling in my cube on a Wednesday. But then I saw an article titled “Michael Vick: a new dog could help my rehabilitation.” Read the whole article if you want to be filled with rage on this sunny winter day.

The author of this post approaches Vick’s “rehabilitation” like an athlete coming back from an injury or an off-season — not someone who was convicted of running a dog fighting ring in his house and executing at least six to eight dogs by hanging or drowning. She doesn’t question Vick’s assessment that he’s “always been an animal lover” and that he’s mentoring and working with the Humane Society because he wants to – not because it was ordered by the court.

Any true animal lover, like myself, knows it’s completely ridiculous that Vick would call himself an animal lover. I teared up merely typing the words executing six to eight dogs. For animal lovers, it is unimaginable that some people can bring themselves to mistreat animals.  That conviction doesn’t change because of outside forces or a certain culture like Vick claims.

My soul was starting to hurt, so I had to throw this in there to heal it.

“I hate to use our culture as an excuse, but it is what it is and that’s what happened and that’s the way I thought about it growing up,” Vick said. “This is just the way we were brought up.”

So which one was it? Were you brought up to love animals or abuse them? I don’t see how it can be both, so I’m going to have to go with the “animal lover” claim being the false one.

There’s no doubt that Vick is having a comeback this year, he’s played very well this season. I know Americans love a good comeback story. But just because he’s playing good football doesn’t mean we need to gloss over what he did and make him into a good guy now. (The fact that he’s still allowed to play football is a whole other story. How many people do you know that have spent time in Federal prison get to go right back to their job? But that’s a different issue for another day). There are plenty of athletes who are talented and not good people. And that’s fine, I don’t know when we decided to idolize people as role models just because they could catch a ball or run fast. But I don’t think he’s sorry about what he did — he’s sorry he got caught. And I don’t believe he’s volunteering because he wants to help anyone besides himself and his image.

Maybe I’m being cynical and maybe it’s just me but I don’t think the systematic mistreatment and executing of dogs is a mistake — it was a decision. One that, for me, is unforgivable.

If you want to read a real story of redemption, check out Jim Gorant’s book “The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick’s Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption” and you can learn about the dogs who got new homes and all of the wonderful people who tried to save these dogs.

-Susan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

