Skip to content

Joy to the eels

December 6, 2010

I love Christmas!

The holidays are here again, and you know what that means! Using your natural occurring electricity to light up some ornaments! There’s no better way to get in the Christmas spirit than lighting up a Christmas tree.

Ornaments use a lot of electricity but fortunately, I generate a lot of electricity. It’s why I’m called an electric eel. Every time I move I can generate up to 800 watts of electricity. So the people who run my aquarium decided to harness my energy to light up some Christmas lights. And do I mind if you use my electric volts this way? Of course not! Why not use my never ending supply of electricity to bring some holiday cheer? I just swim around in my house and you get beautiful holiday lights – it’s a win-win for everyone.

I know us electric eels can seem scary – we live in almost total darkness in the depths of the ocean and emit electric volts for godsakes. But maybe this will help us bridge the eel-human gap. Nothing brings people together like the holidays. So I’ll keep swimming and you keep singing those carols!

-Earl the Christmas Eel

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

