Skip to content

The Humble, Humble Hippo

November 12, 2010

See this photo? That's called heroism.

As many of you may know, I am a friggin’ hero. Yesterday, with great personal danger to myself, I rescued not one, but TWO animals from drowning in Kenya. Did you catch that? I RESCUED them. Can animals win the Nobel Peace Prize? Because – not to toot my own horn or anything, but I think I’d be a deserving recipient.  That’s it, I’m going to nominate myself.

In any event, I’d like to take this moment to share a dramatic re-telling of that harrowing, death-defying experience.

It was a dark and story night. Just kidding. It was broad daylight! But let’s not get into details about the weather.  Anyway, the river’s current was incredibly strong that day.  Earlier, I lost my little brother to its powerful waves. No, that didn’t happen. But it easily could have. So there I was, just wading through the water – oh right, it should be noted that I am actually very capable of crossing rivers without help, I have a muscular body that works against the current – but other animals are obviously not as blessed as I am.

That’s when I saw her. A little baby gnu. She had become separated from her mother, and was struggling against the strength of the tide. I knew if I didn’t act, right then, she would never make it across. Oh the thoughts that were in my mind at that moment – I didn’t want to be a hero necessarily. I just wanted to do the right thing, you know? But heavy is the head that wears the crown. I bravely decided to risk my own life to see that the little gnu made it safely to land. I remember how often I almost succumbed to the current, but I stood my ground. I prodded her little body, whispering encouraging words to her as she almost gave up. But she did it. With my help, of course.

Then minutes later, I saw another animal who needed my help. A little baby zebra, who was clearly having a lot of trouble keeping his head above water. I knew I had to go back and find that inner strength all over again.

I know hippos sometimes can get a bad rap for being lazy and extremely violent and aggressive, but my experience obviously disproves that. Let my story be spread all over the world.

We are all hippos today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

