Skip to content

Porpoises saved Dick Van Dyke’s life

November 12, 2010

All of this might have never happened.

I would like to go on the record as saying that Dick Van Dyke is fucking awesome. He’s just great, everything about him is great. Which is why I am ecstatic that porpoises once saved his life.

On Wednesday, Van Dyke went on “The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson” and explained how he went surfing one time, fell asleep, only to wake up in the middle of the ocean. I’ll leave it to the man himself to explain the rest:

“I started paddling with the swells and I started seeing fins swimming around me and I thought ‘I’m dead!’ [They] turned out to be porpoises. And they pushed me all the way to shore.”

He didn’t specify when this rescue happened, but it’s still terrifying to think that someone who wasn’t Dick Van Dyke could’ve been the chimney sweep in Mary Poppins. Maybe Daphne had something to do with it. Also, do you think Dick Van Dyke can tell the differences between dolphins and porpoises? Because if he can, he’s even more awesome than I originally thought.

-Susan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

